My New Friend the Food Processor

8 Nov

All these blades make my life a little easier and, as Tre says, the cooking ever better!

Last weekend I was gifted with a hand-me-down KitchenAid Food Processor: an illustrious and envied kitchen item that has ranked supreme on my life’s wishlist, second only to a stand mixer and commercial blender, and thoughtfully left to the wishlist due to cost implications. Despite being lightly used, I couldn’t have been happier about the gift from Tre’s mom which, lucky for me, was a redundancy in her kitchen. As a family who has made their mark as entrepreneurs in the food manufacturing industry, it’s only natural that Tre’s mother has abundant kitchen appliances, electrics, gadgets, utensils and the like… if not a little superfluity among them…as well as a palate and penchant for recipe inception rivaling that of one of the most prolific chefs I know: my mother.

My mom takes a less industrial approach to cooking and thus has a less extensive collection of kitchen items. Her’s is more eclectic, and for those of you who have ever cooked with a stove-top pressure cooker, perhaps you would appreciate the quaint antiquity of her cooking style. It was from her that I learned how to chop, slice, dice, puree, shred, peel, and mix without the aid of a food processor — skills that make my appreciation of said electric that much more extensive. You are no kind of chef if you haven’t shed blood from the manual kitchen tools of yore. Nonetheless, I’m glad to hang some of those items to rest, namely a cheese grater that’s claimed its pound of flesh from me, in lieu of my new-to-me electric companion.

4 Responses to “My New Friend the Food Processor”

  1. Brianna November 8, 2010 at 7:35 PM #

    Dearest Kelly, I believe the BlendTec blender might bring you much joy…http://www.willitblend.com/

  2. Eel November 15, 2010 at 3:10 PM #

    I was raised to hand chop, slice, dice etc… and I did it for 15 years of parenthood. Then, one Christmas my husband bought me a food processor. Three years later and I still giggle like a school girl with a super-crush while I slice the potatoes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Food Processor Series: Instant Oatmeal with no Unidentifiable Ingredients « 23 and Grain Free - November 9, 2010

    […] I’ll be the first to admit that my inaugural adventure with the new food processor was fairly anticlimactic. This was mostly out of sheer intimidation. A blade spinning at an excess […]

  2. The Kitchen Essentials Series: #2 Sharp Knives and a Decent Cutting Board « 23 and Grain Free - December 3, 2010

    […] help me remember to grab one next time I’m on my semi-annual trip to Walmart. Thankfully, my food processor helps reduce some of the knife-to-cutting board type prep with less bodily risk, but nonetheless, a […]

Leave a Reply

